Spring Cleaning

Last night I watched a very powerful documentary called, “May I be Frank“, about a man who decided to undergo a six-week detox, involving a mainly raw vegan diet, with the intention of reversing some negative health issues and losing some weight. What happened in this six-week period was far more than he could have imagined. He actually focused on improving all aspects of his life, worked through some major emotional issues from his past, learned how to love himself, and live an all-around better life in the process. That’s on top of  him losing 60lbs and reversing his serious health issues.

The concept of detoxing and cleansing gets a lot of criticism. Our bodies are designed to detox themselves. That’s what our liver is for! I think it’s perfectly normal to indulge at times in our lives and if taking a couple weeks to clean up the crap makes our bodies feel better, then GO FOR IT.  Our bodies were not designed to handle the processed diet and alcohol that the general population tends to consume. Most of the people I know are tired, depressed, out of shape, dehydrated and hung over. I actually know very few people who actually feel like their physical health is thriving.

The struggle is real, though: there’s always a birthday, girls night out or reason to celebrate with unhealthy food and alcohol. No one should have a diet so strict that they feel suffocated or anxious about socializing. But at the same time, we should ensure that we actually give our body the nutrients it needs to function at its best. The most basic part of self-care, I believe, is eating well and for me thats about a 90% / 10%  healthy food / indulgences ratio. But still, achieving this 90/10 ratio takes commitment and sacrifices, and remaining true to WHY we are doing it.

Eating mainly whole unprocessed foods fills me with energy, it makes me feel happy and gives me the foundation I need to fuel my running and fitness goals. So with these motivators in mind, and the same dedication that I bring to all of my important goals in life, for the next twelve days, I’m committing myself to the Wild Rose Detox and will be turning down all alcohol, sweets, baked goods and dairy in the hopes of realigning with healthier food habits.

Wishing you all a healthy and happy weekend!

Love your comments!