Patience Pays Off!!

Oh how wonderful the leaves sound under my feet, how amazing the chilly air feels on my face and as it fills my lungs; my muscles remember what they were made to do and I am alive once more.

All my time spent resting paid off! This past Friday marked my first run in 20 days!! Just in time too because I was starting to get moody and bummed out. I did my second run yesterday and brought Zoe along and she loved it just as much as I did. Both runs were 7k with the sun beaming and about 5°C. Ahhh it’s so awesome to be back at it – without an ounce of pain in my foot!!

During my time off and on my first 2 runs since I’ve been thinking, “So I completed my first marathon, what’s next?? – GET FASTER!!” I have decided that in 2012 I will first do another half marathon with a goal time of 1:45 or less and then another full marathon with a goal time of under 4 hours.  Oh I almost forgot the most important run of all!! The Tely Ten in St. John’s NL on July 28th. I’ve got a few new recruits for next year and I’m excited to break the 80 min mark for this little 10 mile baby in 2012 🙂

Now that I have the confidence of having a half and a full under my belt there is no reason to take it easy and only worry about finishing. Hopefully there will be no surprise concussions in 2012 and I will give every race my absolute best! Every run from now until then will be spent working on speed.

Armed with a couple new cold weather running wardrobe pieces and some brand new tunes on my ipod, I am excited for more fall and winter running. I’ll run everyday the temps are warmer than -25° C and I’ll do more strength training to stay strong after the 35th k. Come spring I’ll be a lean mean racing machine at a whole new level of my game 🙂

One of my fave new songs on my running playlist: Enjoy!

Love your comments!